Skip to content

The Ill of Still

June 30, 2010

I’m a bachelor this week.  My wife and kids are staying with family in St. Louis.  The good news is that I can eat all the bacon I want and drink straight out of the milk jug (Oh, come on, you know you do it when no one is looking).

My life runs at a pace that keeps me from being alone very often.  When I do get alone, I get antsy.  I immediately try to fill that “space” with the noise of life – TV, computer, etc. 

What I have discovered during times of solitude in my life is that I love the “noise” of life because it anesthetizes me to my own disease.  If I can stay engaged in something or with someone then I can keep the illusion that my spirit is perfectly fine.  The noise keeps me from having to take a long, hard look at myself.   

This is exactly why God tells us to “be still and know” (Psalm 46:10).  There is a knowledge we gain when we are still that we can never have when we  immerse ourselves in constant noise.  Stillness brings a knowledge of God and a knowledge of ourselves.  Without stillness, we will never get beyond a superficial state of life.  Silence teaches us to listen at a depth that challenges our current mode of life.  Stillness is painful for our hyperactive society.  But it is a pain that will yield incredible reward.  Today, be still if even for a few moments and listen.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. DAX HUGHES permalink
    June 30, 2010 10:05 am

    Good word! I can relate to that! Especially the milk jug (when it’s not that organic stuff my wife likes)!

    Here is something I have been meditating on concerning this;

    “Busyness and efficiency stalk the deeper spiritual life. Sometimes the best thing to do is make a decision to not do anything. Make a choice to listen and wait for God. This is the most elemental practice for our personal spirituality.” Death By Suburb by Goetz

  2. Sandy permalink
    June 30, 2010 12:44 pm

    Soooo true. Satan wants us to live a superficial life and he often tries to keep you distracted in order to keep you from spending quiet time with the Lord or studying the Bible. He tries to make you think that all sorts of things need to be done right at that moment or you need to watch some program on TV….and sadly sometimes he succeeds.

  3. ksmith87 permalink
    June 30, 2010 1:23 pm

    We need to sing that song on Sunday!!

  4. Mike Brooks permalink
    June 30, 2010 1:53 pm

    One can only know who one is, when he ( she) is alone.

  5. Ron Reeder permalink
    July 1, 2010 1:59 am

    I LOVE it when God raises me out of my sleep at 3:00 a.m. and draws me into His lap for a little “Abba Time.” I am always amazed at how he so clearly shows me the “next” unclean thing He wants me to purge from my life on my unending journey toward Holiness. Thank you, Nathan, for your thoughts on Grace, The Cross, and Logos.

  6. Kyle Heine permalink
    July 1, 2010 10:26 am

    I am an expert at removing all stillness from my life. Thanks for the encouragement to be still and know.

  7. Robert permalink
    July 4, 2010 5:41 pm

    Indeed, God tells us to “be still and know that I am God:….” In the same chapter, Psalms 46, we learn also that God is our refuge and strength,….” , and we need not fear. When we learn more about God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit in these moments of stillness it is also important that we share what we learn to the community around us in our daily walk.

Leave a Reply

