Skip to content

“True Religion”

July 4, 2010

Palmer Chinchen’s book “True Religion” brings current, global crises into clear view to my desensitized heart.  Chinchen grew up in Africa as a child of a missionary and has focused much of his American  ministry on the transformative effects of short-term missions.  It isn’t the most profound theological treatise you have read, but with great vividness it tells the stories of global need as well as the transformation that has occurred to those who seek to meet those needs.  Chinchen calls these folks “expatriates.”  If you read this book with “ears wide open” you will hear the voice of the God of all nations within these stories calling you to be an expatriate.  God has certainly spoken to me through this book.  He has something on my horizon as well as the horizon of HWC as he calls us to the foolishness of the cross.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cherity permalink
    July 4, 2010 7:17 pm

    I just really can’t get enough. Hungry. That sums it up. I am so glad you started this blog, even with such a short entry like this one just giving a “glimpse” into a book you are reading makes me SURE that I want to read it! Thanks so much for sharing. Hope you enjoy your evening on this Independence Day! Can’t wait til the next entry or the next meeting. 🙂

  2. DAX permalink
    July 4, 2010 9:40 pm

    I want to be a Heartland Expatriate! Little scared of what that will look like but where will I run too if not that. If I run from Jesus what will I run too? Nothing that will satisfy the depths of my soul! So God have your way with me!

  3. Robert permalink
    July 5, 2010 4:51 pm

    Nathan -If you are really desisitized then the rest of us do not have much chance of ever being an effective missionary for Christ. Your projected image is a caring, committed, effective voice for this time and place.

    Having said that let me comment about a couple of things. Words have meaning, and apparently words have different meaning to different generations. For example, I understand that Jesus introduced a radical change in the way God provided for our sins, and Jesus would be considered a radical today. But Jesus also taught us how to live with our neighbors. Most of my generation equate radicals with Patti Hurst, the Branch Dividians, the Black Panthers, etc. So for us to be preceived as radicals is not a good thing. We must continue to evaluate and be taught God honored appropriate “radical actions.”

Leave a Reply

