Skip to content

The Secret Scandals of the Andy Griffith Show

February 10, 2016

My favorite sitcoms of all time:

5.  Tie:  Everybody Loves Raymond and Fresh Prince of Bel Air

4.  Frasier

3.  Seinfeld

2.  The Office

1.  The Andy Griffith Show (black and white ones)

That’s right!  The crew from Mayberry is at the top of my list.  This show might be old, but it has been able to stand the test of time for one reason- It’s funny, really funny.  It’s still the king of comedies in my book.  Maybe I’m an old soul, but I don’t think this show has ever been topped.

Recently I have been watching Andy Griffith in order on Netflix.  I’ve never done that before.  I watch an episode every morning while I eat my breakfast.  It starts my day off right.  However, I have noticed some scandalous and quite disturbing trends on the show.  Here they are.

(1) Disappearing women.  Female characters, especially girlfriends of Barney and Andy, just vanish without any explanation.  In season one, Barney is dating Hilda May and then an episode or two later he is dating Thelma Lou.  Ellie the female druggist, and Andy’s love interest in season one (she also played on Father Knows Best), is gone without a trace as season two starts and we never hear what happened to her.  Even worse, who is Opie’s mom and what happened to her?  Apparently she is mentioned on an episode of The Danny Thomas Show that Andy appeared in.  But I need more – I need closure.  Did they move, die, or breakup with their male counterparts?  Were they abducted by aliens?

(2)  Multiple Personalities.  Many of the actors on the show play multiple characters.  Rafe Hollister is also rummage sale customer and Luke Rainier who operates an illegal still.  Did they think we wouldn’t notice?

(3)  Driver’s door on the squad car.  Why does everyone who gets in a car parked at the curb in front of the sheriff’s office get in the car through the passengers side and scoot over instead of going through the drivers door?

(4) Bye bye Barney.  I know many of you will agree with me that Barney’s departure with the arrival of color episodes was the end of an era.  The show never recovered from it fully.  It went from an outstanding show to a pretty good show.  That’s why my favorite sitcom of all times is the black and white (first 5 seasons) episodes of The Andy Griffith Show.

I feel better now that I have that off my chest.  Any other scandals stick out to you that I failed to mention?  Maybe I missed something.  I’d love to hear from you.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Garbo Williams permalink
    February 10, 2016 4:50 pm

    Barney had 3 different middle names. He was at different times, Bernard P. Fife, Bernard Milton Fife, and Bernard Oliver Fife

  2. Christine Althoff permalink
    February 10, 2016 5:32 pm

    It is rumored that Aunt Bea and Andy did not like each other in real life.

  3. Rhonda permalink
    February 10, 2016 6:27 pm

    I think you would enjoy a visit to Mt Airy, North Carolina, Andy’s boyhood home. It was the inspiration for the set of Mayberry. It is very close to Pilot Mountain. They have “Mayberry Days” every year and there is an Andy Griffith museum.

  4. reggielafaye permalink
    February 10, 2016 8:36 pm

    Ahhhh, I love those too. I’m old but my soul is young. Great choice!

  5. February 11, 2016 9:19 am

    My favorite episodes are the “Barney in the choir with a hot mic” episode and the “Mr. McBeevey and Opie” one on which we could do some church studies. (Don’t know exact titles) The ones with Earnest T. Bass and the Darlins are also excellent.
    .

Leave a Reply

